Press Releases

School Counselors Nominated for National Award

Release Date: 2/25/2009 2:18:10 PM

Six Carroll County Public Schools guidance counselors have been nominated for the American School Counselor of the Year Award. Congratulations to the following nominees:
Jennifer Brauer, South Carroll High School
Heidi Kohls, Cranberry Station Elementary School
Gwen Lilly, Manchester Elementary School
Cathlin McCormick, Westminster Elementary School
Chris Snively, Piney Ridge Elementary School
Marissa Terrano, Northwest Middle School.
The School Counselor of the Year Award program is sponsored by the American School Counselors Association and honors the “best of the best” – school counselors who are running a top-notch, comprehensive school counseling program at either the elementary, middle, or high school level. A comprehensive school counseling program is data driven and addresses the counseling goals and components of the national model of school counseling. The program honors the professionals who devote their careers to serving as advocates for the nation’s students.
Winners of this prestigious award are selected from hundreds of nominees around the country. The individual school program is evaluated and judged on the evidence from the data that impacts student achievement, career planning, and social emotional development.
Please visit for more information about the role of the school counselor.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive