Press Releases

Carroll Students Named Carson Scholars

Release Date: 3/22/2012 8:17:51 AM

Ten students from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as Carson Scholars for 2012. Each year the Fund recognizes a select group of high achieving students in grades 4-11 who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities. 
First-Time Scholars receive a $1,000 college scholarship award. After winning the scholarship, a student may apply for Previous Scholar Recognition each year until he or she graduates from high school. Previous scholars receive recognition but no additional scholarship money is awarded.
First-Time Scholar
Eliza Lambertson - Grade 4 - Robert Moton Elementary School
Recognized Scholars
Harrison Curnutte - Grade 9 - Francis Scott Key High School - 2-Time Scholar
Jared Harless - Grade 7 - Northwest Middle School - 3-Time Scholar
Nicolas Holocker - Grade 11 - Century High School - 4-Time Scholar
Grace McCarthy - Grade 11 - Liberty High School - 4-Time Scholar
Jennifer Nguyen - Grade 6 - Shiloh Middle School - 2-Time Scholar
Anna Parsons - Grade 11 - Westminster High School - 6-Time Scholar
Nathan Saurusaitis - Grade 8 - North Carroll Middle School - 4-Time Scholar
Allison Williams - Grade 10 - Liberty High School - 3-Time Scholar
Laura Wonilowicz - Grade 10 - Winters Mill High School - 3-Time Scholar
First-Time and Recognized Scholars will be honored at a recognition banquet on Sunday, April 29, 2012, at Martin’s West. Legendary newscaster Sam Donaldson will serve as Master of Ceremonies.  Honored guests include: Lou Dobbs, broadcaster for Fox Business News and William H. Gates, Sr., Co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. World-renowned pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Ben Carson will deliver the keynote speech. The public is invited to be part of this inspirational day.  For more information or to purchase tickets, visit the Carson Scholars Fund website at

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive